Universiti Teknologi Malaysia UTMKL

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia UTMKL Rankings, Courses, Fees, Admission 2024 & Scholarships

  • Location: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur
  • Type: Public Institute
  • Courses: 50
  • Founded: 1972
  • University Rank: 2

Overview About Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia is a renowned research university situated in Skudai, Johor. Its history dates back to Treacher Technical School, which was later converted into a college that welcomed 320 students for the 1958-1959 academic session. The college then underwent a transformation into a technical institute in 1972 before being granted university status in 1975. The government gave its approval to the university's constitution in 1976.

History of the UTM

UTM has a rich history that dates back to 1904 when it first started as a technical school. Over the years, it evolved into a college, then an institute, and finally achieved the prestigious status of a university in the 1970s.

The institution is situated in two different locations, with one campus located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur, the capital city of the country, and the other in Johor Bahru, the state capital of Johor state. The latter, which is located at the southern tip of peninsular Malaysia, serves as UTM's main campus and houses 10 residential colleges.

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Rankings

  • QS World - #188 (2024)
  • THE World - #601-800 (2023)
  • USNWR Global - #379 (2023)

Why Choose Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) 

Academic Excellence: UTM is renowned for its high-quality education, delivered by experienced faculty in state-of-the-art facilities.

Innovative Learning: The university fosters creativity, critical thinking, and practical skills, providing students with an innovative and dynamic learning environment.

Cutting-Edge Research: UTM offers opportunities for students to engage in groundbreaking research, contributing to advancements in various fields.

Global Perspective: UTM's commitment to internationalization ensures students gain a global perspective through exchange programs and diverse collaborations.

Industry Connections: Strong ties with industry partners offer students real-world exposure, preparing them for the demands of the professional world.

Innovation and Entrepreneurship: UTM actively encourages innovation, providing support for entrepreneurship through incubators and accelerators.

Modern Campus: Equipped with modern facilities, UTM's campus ensures an optimal environment for learning and research.

Community Engagement: UTM emphasizes social responsibility, engaging students in community outreach programs and initiatives.

Alumni Network: Joining UTM means becoming part of a prestigious alumni network, offering valuable connections and mentorship.

Sustainability Commitment: UTM integrates sustainable practices into its operations, reflecting a commitment to environmental responsibility.

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Highlights

Year of establishment  14 March 1972; 51 years
Affiliated by  ASAIHL, FUIW, APUCEN
Accredited by  Kementerian Pendidikan Tinggi (Ministry of Higher Education of Malaysia).
Campus Area  1148 hectares
Type Of Institution  Public
Top Courses  Agricultural Sciences. Biology and Biochemistry. Biotechnology and Applied Microbiology. Chemical Engineering. Chemistry (tie) Clinical Medicine. Computer Science (tie)   Engineering.
Mode of Application  Online and Offline
Facilities  Computer Labs Video Conferencing System ICT Helpdesk System (SPICT) Licensed Software Library Putra Agriculture Centre ICT Sports and Recreation University Health   Centre (UPMKB) Cafeteria Lecture Hall and Seminar Room UPMKB Rentals UPMKB Veterinary Clinic
Placement companies  -

Vice Chancellor of the University of Technology Malaysia

No. Vice Chancellor Term In office
1. Ainuddin Wahid 1975 ? 1989
2. Muhammad Ridzuan Salleh 1990 ? 1994
3. Ahmad Zaharudin Idrus 1994 ? 2001
4. Mohd. Zulkifli Mohd Ghazali 2001 ? 2008
5. Zaini Ujang 2008 ? 2013
6. Wahid Omar 2013 ? 2020
7. Ahmad Fauzi Ismail 2020 ? present

List of University of Technology Malaysia alumni.

The University of Technology Malaysia boasts an esteemed alumni roster that encompasses influential figures in politics and public service. Notable individuals among its alumni include:

Wee Ka Siong: Former Malaysian Minister of Transport.

Annuar Musa: Former Malaysian Minister of Communications and Multimedia.

Hamzah Zainudin: Former Malaysian Minister of Home Affairs.

Saarani Mohamad: Current Menteri Besar of Perak.

Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani: Former Malaysian Inspector-General of Police and current President of Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia.

Dominic Lau Hoe Chai: Former Malaysian Inspector-General of Police.

These accomplished individuals showcase the University of Technology Malaysia's significant impact on shaping leaders in various sectors, contributing to the nation's political and public service landscape.

About Campuses

The university operates across three campuses, with its primary campus situated in Skudai. Pioneering as the first university in the state of Johor, it extends its educational offerings to students hailing from the state, the nation, and beyond. Encompassing an expansive land area of 11.48 square kilometers, this campus stands as the second-largest public university in the country.

The university's branch campus, situated in Jalan Semarak within Kuala Lumpur, serves as a hub for part-time, diploma, undergraduate, and overseas students specializing in business studies. Established in 2017, the new Pagoh campus enhances UTM's educational footprint. Moreover, UTM's Research Management Centre, established in 1982, plays a pivotal role in overseeing research and development activities across the university.

(Show More)

Universiti Teknologi Malaysia UTMKL
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur
Public Institute
International Islamic University of Malaysia
Selangor, Selangor
Public Institute
Universiti Utara Malaysia UUM
Sintok, Kedah
Public Institute
Universiti Malaysia Sarawak UNIMAS
Kota Samarahan, Sarawak
Public Institute
University of Malaysia Sabah UMS
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Public Institute
University Technology MARA
Shah Alam, Selangor
Public Institute
University of Terengganu Malaysia
Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu
Public Institute
Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
Batu Pahat, Johor
Public Institute
Technical University of Malacca UTeM
Malacca, Malacca
Public Institute
University of Malaysia Pahang UMP
Pekan, Pahang
Public Institute
Need any help
Chat with us
Start a Conversation
Hi! Click one of our member below to chat on WhatsApp